

RENEWAL FAQS—ARCHITECTS

GENERAL RENEWAL QUESTIONS

Q: When do I renew my license?

A: All architect licenses expire on November 30 of each odd-numbered year. Renewals begin on October 1 of the year a license expires.

Q: How do I renew my license?

A: Licenses may be renewed online at https://www.ms.gov/msboa/application_suite/Architects/License_Renewal.

FIRM DOCUMENTS

Q: I was advised to provide firm documents during renewal. Do I need to do this?

A: Firm documentation is required ONLY if you are changing your firm/business name during renewal. If you do not make any change to your firm or business as listed on the renewal application, you are not required to submit firm documents.

INACTIVE STATUS

Q: I am not currently working or seeking work in Mississippi. Must I renew?

A: No. If you are not working or marketing services in Mississippi, you do not need to do anything. Your license will become inactive on November 30, 2023. You may renew late with the added expense of a late fee until November 30, 2025. After November 30, 2025, reinstatement will be required to return to active status. For details on the reinstatement process, see Rule 2.3. Do not be alarmed by routine communications if you choose to allow your license to become inactive. You will continue to receive renewal notices, and you will receive an inactive notice after November 30 if you do not renew.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Q: How many hours of continuing education are required to renew?

A: In order to renew, architects must acquire 12 Continuing Education Hours (CEHs) in each calendar year, which shall total 24 CEHs for each biennial renewal. All hours must be in structured settings as defined in Rule 6.4, and shall address health, safety and welfare subjects as defined in Rule 6.5.

Q: I will not complete my continuing education hours until the end of the calendar year. Can I still renew by November 30 to avoid a late fee?

A: Yes. When renewing, registrants certify that they either have or <u>will have</u> acquired 24 CEHs within the prescribed period, so you can still submit the renewal as long as all hours will be completed by the end of the calendar year.

Q: I obtained 20 hours in 2022, but only 6 in 2023. Can I carry-over the credits from 2022?

A: No carry-over credits are not allowed. 12 CEHs are required every calendar year. In this scenario, the registrant should acquire another 6 hours prior to December 31, 2023 to gain

Renewal FAQs—Architects

credit in a timely fashion, and to avoid a fine for failure to obtain all hours in the prescribed period.

Q: This is my first time to renew. Am I exempted from continuing education?

A: Yes. First-time renewers are automatically exempted and will receive notification of this during the renewal application process.

Q: Do I need to provide copies of my continuing education records with my renewal?

A: No. Please do not send continuing education documentation unless you are notified that you have been selected for audit.

Q: I have been notified that I will be audited for continuing education. Will my AIA transcript suffice as proof of completion?

A: Yes. The HSW credits on the AIA transcript count toward the requirement. The transcript must cover the period of January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023. The audit instructions, which will be emailed to those selected for CE audit, provide details about the types of documents that are acceptable as verification.

Q: I am an out-of-state resident, but my state is not listed as one with the resident-state CE exemption. Why?

A: The exemption requires a similar exemption in your resident state for Mississippi residents. A state not listed can be added to the list if you provide proof (copy of the rules or email from the board's executive director) that your state's board reciprocates with a CE exemption.

EMERITUS STATUS

Q: Can I apply for emeritus status?

A: Review the rule below to determine if you qualify for emeritus status. If you wish to seek emeritus status, e-mail the Board office at msboa@msboa.ms.gov.

Rule 2.5 Emeritus Status

Architects who have been registered in this state for ten (10) consecutive years who are retired from active practice or other related professional activities may request "Emeritus Status" by filing an application showing compliance with the requirements of this section if they are either sixty-five (65) years of age or older OR if they can provide, to the Board's satisfaction, documentation that they are physically or mentally unable to participate in active practice. "Retired" means that the architect no longer practices architecture in Mississippi in that the architect no longer stamps and certifies documents or practices architecture as defined in Miss. Code Ann. §73-1-3(c). If all of the requirements of this section have been met, all continuing education requirements, fees and penalties, if applicable, for biennial renewal shall be waived by the Board.

Any reference to an architect on 'Emeritus Status' on any letter, title, sign, card or device shall list such architect as "Emeritus Architect" or "Architect Emeritus".

In order to return to active status, an Emeritus Status architect must follow the procedures and meet the requirements for reinstatement.

OTHER QUESTIONS

Please review the <u>law</u> and <u>rules</u>. Most questions are answered within these documents. If you are unable to find an answer, please contact the Board office.