Skip to main content
The official website of the State of Mississippi

Notice to Architect Applicants: If you are offering or proposing architectural services prior to licensure, please review the requirements for solicitation prior to licensure in Rule 2.7. Individuals meeting the conditions of Rule 2.7 are prohibited from rendering additional architectural services beyond the offer or proposal until the individual has an active license.

Landscape Architect Examination & Initial Licensure

​​Review the Mississippi requirements for licensure in Section 73-2-7 of the Landscape Architect Registration Act and in Chapter 1 of the Rules and Regulations.

In order to apply for licensure, one must take and pass the Landscape Architect Registration Examination (LARE).  Applicants without a 4-year or master's degree in landscape architecture should contact the Board for instructions on how to apply to begin examination.  Applicants with a college degree in landscape architecture should apply directly to CLARB to begin the LARE (​

Upon completion of the LARE, an applicant must direct CLARB to transmit the CLARB Council Record to the Board. Basic qualifications for initial licensure by examination, which the CLARB Council Record must document, are:

  • Successful completion of the LARE, and
  • A degree in landscape architecture from a college or university having a minimum four-year curriculum as approved by the Board, or seven years of experience in landscape architecture as approved by the Board, or a degree in any curriculum and five years of experience as approved by the Board.

Applicants must also complete the Landscape Architect Initial Registration by Exam Application.

Approval Process

Processing will take 3 to 4 weeks after receipt of all required documents, provided that there are no extenuating circumstances.  An official Notice of Registration will be issued by email and postal mail if the application is approved. 


Rule 1.11 provides instructions on producing the official seal. Please note that a seal sample is due to the Board within 60 days from the date of licensure.

Renewals and Continuing Education

Biennial renewals (every two years) occur from October 1 to December 31 of odd-numbered calendar years. Upon the second renewal and thereafter, licensees must meet the continuing education requirements outlined in Chapter 4 of the Rules and Regulations.​​​​​​